Bench Pressing Strong Verbs – Rules of The Game

Standard

Rules Of The Game

waking up1I have always enjoyed writing. It feels, almost, sensual. When I was a child, I looked forward to going to Aunt Jan’s house.  She had, maybe our family’s only computer. My cousins and I played games. They were always better than I was. They also had an old, manual typewriter, which I found more interesting than they did. An urge to write, something, anything, left me tingling and excited. Eventually, Aunt Jan gave me that beat-up old Royal.

Keys stuck, ribbons got so old I could hardly read what they spelled on notebook paper.   But, I could write.  I started with poetry.  I wrote stories.  Sometime, I pretended I was reporting stories.  I outgrew it.  One day, I got my first computer.  I tried college.  Eventually, I moved on with my life.  Then, one day, I found my old typewriter.

My itch to write was back.  I feel like I have novels inside me, waiting to come out.  But, I want to write it properly.  But, I’ve never wrote much in school, and never took their writing classes.  Now?  Who has time for school?  So, I wrote stories on some of those kinds of sites.  Soon, I wasn’t writing stories they wanted to read.  I wanted to write about complex characters in exciting situations.  They were looking for something more…primal.

So, I joined WordPress.  Later, somehow, I discovered Scribophile, a site for writers to explore their talents, and get feedback.  As I began my journey, I discovered I had bad writing habits.  One of them was adverbs.  Adverbs have bad reputations.  They lead to weak and lazy writing.  They also lead writers into tell not show traps.   If I replaced an adverb – weak verb pair with a strong verb, I could save one word for something else, and transform my writing.

But, what were those things? With Google I found lists, lists, and more lists. Alas, looking at them didn’t help much. To improve my skills, I needed to…use them.  Ugh.

Only, un-ugh.  If I wanted to be a writer, shouldn’t I write?  Couldn’t I pick ten random words off my list, and write little stories, using them in the order I picked them?  And, what if I wrote serial stories?  And what if I wrote about three different characters?  And what if I kept my story under five hundred words?

So, I did.

Amy Janet Tammy
Silence Is Golden, Honesty Is Forever Duct Tape, Candy, and Legos Quirked Eyebrows and Fluttering Hands
Eternity With A Kitty Carrier Myopic Maneuverings and Misguided Minions Red Nails and Ducal Seals
Grammar School Spelling Coaches Slip In Time An Unexpected Gift
That Special Time of Year Double Meanings
Butterflies and Tingling Skin
2 thoughts on “Bench Pressing Strong Verbs – Rules of The Game

  1. Pingback: Butterflies and Tingling Skin – Bench Pressing Strong Verbs | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: Silent’s January Jumble | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

