Silent’s January Jottings

Standard

SILENT’S JANUARY JOTTINGS

reportEndings.

Beginnings.

This was my most wonderful month, ever.

At the beginning of the month, I finished “Forbidden Footsteps”, my first long story.  The word count, 53,000, was unbelievable.  But, I already knew I had no clue about real writing.  So, I took the coward’s way out.  I never posted the last part.  In fact, I took down the first three parts.

Free of “Forbidden Footsteps”, I turned to shorter works.  I found Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers, and wrote several 100 word flash fictions.  People were very nice to me.  That was a lot of fun.  She says to make every word count.  Because of who I am and how I write, I really had to work at it.  I entered two Weekly Writing Challenges, and a Daily Prompt.  No one noticed.  That hurt, a little.  At least, when I wrote “strong verbs” piece, one person responded, telling me I had no idea what I was doing, and was not using the words right.  At least they cared enough to set me straight.

I read a lot of books on how to write, nine in fact.  The first, Saving The Cat, was like being hit on the head with a 2 x 4, because it made a huge impression on my mind.  And I read other books on structure, and character development.  Now, I am reading about scene construction.

I had no idea how much I did not know.  Has it all sunk in?  Nope.  But, at least, I know how hopeless “Forbidden Footsteps” is.

I am still trying to understand “Forbidden Footsteps.”  I don’t even know what genre to put it in.  I guess it was, kind of, one of Blake Snyder’s Buddy Stories (Romance).  But, who can tell?  I did not even know there were ten genres.  So, I wrote some little concepts for stories for each genre.  Some genres scare me, like Rites of Passage and Monster In The House.  Certain genres, like like Buddy Stories, Girl With A Problem, and Golden Fleece, attract me.  Maybe I can turn “Forbidden Footsteps” into one of those.

I am learning about characters.  In my long story, Jamie was not even a cardboard cutout.  Who knows what she was.  So, I tried to re-imagine her.  More likely, I was just trying to imagine her.  I used a Myers Briggs type, ENFP, and filled her, using the Attribute Thesaurus’s, to find her Moral, Achievement, Interactive, and Identity circles.  It was so much fun, I imagined Christopher, her love interest, turning Jamie and me into myself into helpless school girls in the process.  And I even imagined Mark Sattler, a villain, who would be very, very bad for Jamie.

So, what did I do?

1 – Long Story (not posted)

1 – Summary of the Long Story, viewed through story elements

1 – Daily Prompt Story

3 – Friday Fictioneer Flash Fiction Stories (100 words) – 1, 2, and 3

3 – Weekly Challenge Stories – 1, 2, and 3

2 – Strong Verbs Flash Fiction Stories – 1 and 2

10 – Concepts for Original Stories (one for each Blake genre)

3 – Character Profiles – 1, 2, and 3

3 – Lamentations about how I don’t know how to write – 1, 2, and 3

9 – Books read on “how to write”

If you see my mind, save it for me, please?

Leave a Reply

