As It Turned Out…

Standard

As It Turned Out…

.

confused 2…the lesson I thought I was learning, wasn’t the one I needed.

Who likes being humiliated?

Well…except for that way.

I mean about writing.

In January, I finished my first, ever, complete, novel.  Doing what everyone said to do, I stuffed it in a drawer to let it age.

Then what?  Well, I did housework, laundry, sewed buttons on his shirt and other, more fun, wifey stuff.

What I needed was a new project.  I had a head filled with ‘how to write’ stuff, and I wanted to try it out.  I was particularly fascinated with Blake Snyder’s Save The Cat, and his fifteen beats.  If you don’t know what those are, and have any thoughts of being a serious fiction writer, that book is an absolute must.

Once, long ago, when I was more into role-playing, I wrote stories on one of those sites.  They weren’t very good.  And I felt like I wasted my imagination on them.  They deserved better.  So, I decided to take one of them, grow it from 1,500 words to 6,000 words, and apply the Three Act structure with all Snyder’s beats to it.  I finished it as Tavern Girl, and posted it here on WordPress.  Maybe four people read it.

In the mean time, to broaden my horizons, I joined several other sites, including Scribophile.  Scribophile encourages critiques of, mostly, fiction, I decided to submit Tavern Girl and see what they thought.  I got ready to post it, but still needed a summary.  Somewhere on that site, I learned about loglines.  Twenty-seven words can describe any fiction story.  Since I wanted a good one, I submitted my best effort at a logline for Tavern Girl:

When a stranger asks questions about her past, a slave girl, must escape with her friend, but discovers her Master means to sell her, ending hope of freedom.

Over the course of three days, with two very patient ladies, I learned more about my story than I could believe.  After I got past the part about not knowing what my story really was, I bounced idea after idea off them.  They told me exactly what they thought, in a loving way.  One of them even told me I would bring down the wrath of the bra burning feminists if I followed one idea, and asked me if I really meant to do that.  Well…not so much.  Besides, I don’t want to sag when…never mind.

At some point, Friday night, in fact, I got so excited I couldn’t sleep.  I eased out of bed because I knew what would happen if I woke him up.  And I sat down and started thinking about the story.  It wasn’t just a story.

It could be a series.

Remember,  I started out with a 6,000 word short story.  Actually, I started out with 1,500 words that told a story very poorly.  Then I grew it to 6,000 words that just lay there, doing nothing.  After Lola and Dahlia got done with me, I had the idea for three books.  What’s more, I have the middle half of the second book pretty well figured out, except that I won’t by the time I get back to it.

How crazy is that?

I will post the outline, someday.  I want to go through the spin cycle on Scribophile again.

.

Moral One – Never again will I ever dream a first draft is the best I can do.  Nor it is good enough to inflict on a reader.  The story, the reader, and I all deserve better.

Moral Two – I can improve any idea, if I take the time to brainstorm it with non-judgmental people.  Lola and Dahlia were wonderful.  I promised each of them 100% of the movie royalties, inspired by The Producers.

Moral Three – I really can come up with original ideas that excite me, and others.  There is actually something inside me that I can share with others, and they might be entertained.

.

.

3 thoughts on “As It Turned Out…

Leave a Reply

