WIP – Revising Scenes 30 and 31

Standard

Revisions

Scenes 30 and 31

I revised scenes 28 and 29.

23

“Back in the saddle again…”

How come I can’t remember more of that old song than that.  I suppose I could YouTube it, but that would spoil it.

Oh, and not just cowboys climb up in that saddle to ride.  Ha.

 Scene 30 (May 11th)

Revising scene 30 challenged me.  I still had my original POV.  But, my original scene played heavily against what had happened in scene 29.  And, since scene 29 bore no resemblance to my first version, I had to change my focus.

Finding my focus didn’t take long.  Since I’d decided on drama this time, I needed to force my POV into some sort of painful decision.  He finds himself in circumstances that are spinning out of control.  And he finds himself relying on people he doesn’t like or trust very much.

And he needed to decide if he could still someone who had long supported him.  But they had missed their chance to end rebellion.  And he had to decide if they did it deliberately or not.  So, for much of my scene, he debates whether to hang another guy, or forgive him.  And the other guy doesn’t even know how what’s going through my MC’s mind.

I hope it worked.

 Scene 31 (May 12th)

Scene 31 presented me with two challenges.  I needed to switch POVs.  And…my original POV was no longer even in my scene.  And no one knows if my original POV is still alive or not.  When I replanned my WIP, I thought this would be perfect suspense.  And it was.

I wondered how I would write this without my original POV.  And then I hit on the obvious.  Make his absence my centerpiece.  Let my new POV think he had succeeded in killing him, and let him believe his way to power is now free of obstacles.

And I had fun writing it.

How Am I Doing?

I have 31 of 74 scenes revised or rewritten.  And I reached 47,859 words.  I’m 459 words over my target.

But I’m not worried about it.  When I doled out total words for my seventeen scenes, I limited myself to 1800 words each.  I’m not really sure what I was thinking.  Dividing 36,000 by 17 leaves me with over 2,100 words per scene.  What was I thinking?

I’m probably going to have words to add to starved scenes, or even create one or two new ones.

Happy writing.

Read about scenes 32 and 33.
2 thoughts on “WIP – Revising Scenes 30 and 31

  1. Pingback: WIP – Revising Scenes 32 and 33 | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: WIP – Revising Scenes 28 and 29 | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

