Revising My WIP – Still Working On Dramatic Scenes

Standard

Revising My WIP

Still Working On Dramatic Scenes

I began revising my Dramatic Scenes.

waking up1Here I am, revising dramatic scenes.

And I’m still not done, but I’m getting closer.

Ugh.

I noticed something, though, being Captain Obvious.  When I redid my Dialog Scenes, my last one was Scene 48, which turned out to be half way through my story.  Now that I’m in Dramatic Scenes, about half of them came before my halfway point.  I peeked at Suspense Scenes, and a little more than half of them happen in the first half.

But, it’s obvious, isn’t it?

I used Dialog Scenes to reveal character and plot, which should happen in the first half of my story.  Dramatic Scenes are for hard choices with emotional pain and…drama.  And Suspense Scenes force characters to take new directions whether they want to or not.  In future WIPs, I will have to see if this pattern holds true.

I wrote about what I’m trying to do with dramatic scenes in an earlier article.

How am I doing with Dramatic Scenes?

I’m writing them, one after another.  I’m getting so that, when I start, I feel like I’m cooking dozens of the same kinds of dishes.  Imagine cooking at Burger King.  How awful.

But, at some point, I become interested in the scene, which I better be, right?  If I’m not interested, who will?

I’m sensing the importance of loading the front end of the scene up with tension and emotion, and then using almost pure dialog approaching the decision point.  With some scenes I added in a dramatic physical beat or an emotional outburst.  I wonder which approach I will favor most when I read it all again?

I ran into a scene that I don’t know what to do with, yet.  The scene comes immediately after her epiphany.  She starts down the road to healing herself, and I thought a Dramatic Scene would let her make her first decision.  But…I have a problem.  She is alone, burying her friend and mentor.  I’m not quite sure how to write it.

Could it still be a Dramatic Scene, with dialog between her and what she imagines her friend would say?

Dialog Scenes are out for obvious reasons.

Contemplation Scenes won’t work because she just went through her Epiphany.

If I used a Suspense Scene, I would need something external to the scene to force her into a course of action.  But the whole point of the post Epiphany experience is to make choices.

At first blush, Action Scenes sound crazy.  But is it?  Could she go through an entire scene without much emotion or inner monologue?  Or would that come off as telling?

Maybe I should write the scene using the different templates to see which I like best.

What’s next?

I added no new scenes, so, I’m still at 96.  I reworked 15 scenes and set one aside,  so I’ve still got eight dramatic scenes to go.  With 41 scenes ready for characterization, there are 55 left.  That still seems like a huge number, but when I finish my eight scenes, I will be over the half way point.

I think I will approach characterization differently than scene types.   Scenes can only be one type, once I settle on it.  And I seldom revisit a scene once I’ve revised it.

But most scenes have more than one character.  So, do I take a scene, work on all the characters in it, or do I trace a character through my story, even if it means revisiting a scene two, third or more times?

I suspect I’m going to try to write each character, following them from scene to scene, until I reach their final scene.  I may start my character who has the fewest appearances, and working my way up to my MC.

But…I’m getting ahead of myself.

Read about finishing Dramatic Scenes.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Revising My WIP – Still Working On Dramatic Scenes

  1. Pingback: Revising My WIP – Finish Working On Dramatic Scenes | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: Revising My WIP – Working On Dramatic Scenes | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

