My WIP’s Third Revision – Major Characters (3)

Standard

My WIP’s Third Revision

Major Characters (3)

I continued revising my major characters.

12aI continued revising my major characters, completing three of my four POV characters, which let me finish 36 of my 96 scenes.

So, how am I  doing it?

As I approached writing the POV characters, I tumbled into a concept I’d never heard of – psychic distance or narrative distance.  I have yet another topic I need to learn more about, but experimenting with it will need to wait until my next WIP…whenever that is.

But…what the heck is it?

It revolves around how much of the scene we describe from our POV character’s perspective.  So…what?

Let’s assume I’m writing my scene in Third Person Limited.Let’s block out a scene.

Opening – I introduce my POV, her location, how much time has passed since the last scene, and what her scene goal is.

Then I maneuver the POV character and the scene antagonist into their contest.  And, if we use Jack Bickham’s model, we see this happen:

POV character tries for their scene goal (dialog and physical beats).

Scene antagonist responds to the POV initiative (dialog and physical beats).  Scene antagonist initiates something new to block the POV character (dialog and physical beats).

POV character responds to scene antagonist’s block (dialog and physical beats).  POV experiences emotion, physical sensations, forms thoughts and conducts inner monologue.  POV character initiates something for their scene goal (dialog and physical beats).

And so it continues until the POV character is finally thwarted.

Who describes these pieces?

The scene antagonist’s section – physical beats and dialog?

The POV character’s physical beats, dialog, emotion, physical sensations, thoughts and inner monologue.

Setting description and actions.

In third person limited:

The scene antagonist describes their own words and physical beats.

The POV character describes all their things?

But, who describes the setting description and actions?

After a lot of debate, I decided my POV character would describe the setting description and actions, using their knowledge, word choices and speech patterns.  My other choice was to write it as a separate narrator.

How am I doing?

I wrote three different POV character scenes.  And, I did everything I could to give them their own thoughts, knowledge, word choices and speech patterns.  One was a Native American warrior, another a Colonial soldier, and the last a Colonial spy.

The one I had the most fun with was the Colonial spy.  As I wrote him, I began to hear Liam Neeson.  Soon, I started writing his lines how I imagine he would sound.  I hope I was consistent.

I also tried to fit in their character arcs.  My villain / love interest had the most scenes, so his arc felt the most complete.  The junior villain, with only four, was harder.

So, What’s Next?

I need to write my MC’s POV scenes.  She has 60 of them, and it will take time.  I can hardly wait to see how it all turns out.

Read yet more about revising major characters.
2 thoughts on “My WIP’s Third Revision – Major Characters (3)

  1. Pingback: My WIP’s Third Revision – Major Characters (4) | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: My WIP’s Third Revision – Major Characters (2) | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

