My WIP’s Third Revision – Preparing for Beta Readers (4)

Standard

My WIP’s Third Revision

Preparing for Beta Readers (4)

I continued preparing for beta readers.

5I’m about to start posting my story on Scribophile for critique.

I have no idea if I’m getting close or not.  It’s time to see what other people think

What Have I Been Doing?

I finished braiding my scenes back together.

What does that mean?

When I revised my characters, I chased each character through the story, fixing them paragraph by paragraph…but I didn’t necessarily fix other things in a scene to make everything work together.

So, braiding meant I went through each scene, and make sure everything in my scene worked together.

So, What’s Next?

I glanced through my Trusted Reader’s comments, and found the place where she said my story seemed to hit its stride.  So, that’s how much of it I will post on Scribophile.  I will challenge citters to see if they think that’s true, or not.

I did find it interesting that the point she picked was the first chapter after I posed the Story Question.

I divided up Part One into two halves.

In the first half, I introduced most of my characters.

Then I introduced the story question.

After that, my important characters wrestled with it until the start of Part Two, where external events force a dramatic change to their world, and they must decide what to do.

As I start posting my story, I don’t have enough karma points.  I’ve only got 120, and I need another 145.  Since I earn less that 2 karma points for each crit I do, I need to do another 70 or 80 to post the rest of my story…and that’s a lot.

So…I will be reading a lot of other people’s stories and not writing many of my own.

But, I can go through my Trusted Reader’s comments and think about what I want to do, and pay attention to what critters pick up on.  I do know that I want to change some things.

I posted my story and got my first feedback.

5 thoughts on “My WIP’s Third Revision – Preparing for Beta Readers (4)

  1. Pingback: My WIP’s Third Revision – Critiques (1) | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: My WIP’s Third Revision – Preparing for Beta Readers (3) | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

