My WIP’s Third Revision – Critiques (6)

Standard

My WIP’s Third Revision

Critiques (6)

I halted the critiquing of my WIP.

cover 1I’m trying to balance my time between beta reading, working on my story, and living my life.

Something had to give, so I asked family and friends to…leave me alone.  Yikes.

Beta Reading

This week we critiqued Ash’s story.

I’m happy I read it and hope my thoughts might have helped her.  But, I found myself in the minority as the two guys didn’t agree with me on several things.  Ash will have to decide what she wants to do.

When we read our first story, I worried that David ran all of it through Scrib before trying beta reads.  Then I found out Ash hadn’t posted much of her story for critique, starting with beta reading.  So, I feel better, because only part of my story has been critted.

I’m worried about Ash’s story pacing.  I offered up some changes she might make, but was pretty much shouted down.  Maybe I have story structure all wrong.  Gulp.

My Own Story

After a lot of thought, I finally decided to change the order of Part One, moving a lot of scenes around, deleting one, and adding three more.  I saved my original Part One, and will use it for Beta Reading if I cannot get the changes in place in time.  I’m racing to get everything pulled together.

My changes do several things.  First, I brought the conflict between my villain / love interest and his brother to the front.  I also gave my MC and the villain / love interest more time together before they break up.  Finally, I’ve set the stage for expanded magic, especially in a follow-on story.

The bad news is that I added 4,400 words, bringing my total to over 131,000 words.  Gone are the days when I was aiming for 118,000 words.  Not only is my story now too large, Part One distorts my story structure.  I have no idea what I’m going to do.  I hope the beta readers give me some hints.

What’s Next?

I need to finish my group’s third beta read, review it, and give Alan comments on his story.  I’ve not looked at it yet.

And, by Sunday night, I need to have my story put back together.  I’ve got all the scenes reordered and am polishing them.  I still need to figure out what the chapters should look like, and then I need to find the changes I need to make in Parts 2, 3, and 4.

It’s going to be close.

Read about me waiting for beta reviews.
2 thoughts on “My WIP’s Third Revision – Critiques (6)

  1. Pingback: My WIP’s Third Revision – Critiques (7) | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: My WIP’s Third Revision – Critiques (5) | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

