My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Getting My Scene Types Right (6)

Standard

My WIP’s Fourth Revision

Special Scenes:  Epiphany Scenes

I finished First and Final Scenes.

go to leekah 1I’m madly editing now, but I will try to remember what I learned with Epiphany Scenes.

What Are Epiphany Scenes?

Epiphany Scenes are the key point of the MC’s internal struggle, where they wrestle with all that has gone wrong in their lives and realize they are the reason for all their woes…and they resolve to mend their ways.

This isn’t just some I did bad and now I will do good.  They confess they did bad things because _____.  They know exactly what happened inside them that let them do a bad thing.  Maybe it was pride, or greed, or jealousy.  And they resolve to never do it again, no matter how hard it is.

This realization changes the story flow because our MC understands their flaw and realizes all those mishaps in Part Two, and the terrible disaster in Part Three that dooms them and everyone else happened because of something wrong inside them.  Once they fix it, they can beat the villain.

How did I write them?

I put my MC’s epiphany 2/3 of the way through my story.  It also turned out to be about 2/3 of the way through Part Three.

In the preceding scenes, my MC goes forth from the story Mid Point hoping her side will win, but disaster after disaster befalls her.  And the straw that breaks the camel’s back is her role in causing her mentor’s death, through pride and arrogance.  This is often called All Is Lost.  After he dies in her arms, she has to either come to terms with it, or end her own life, and is often called Dark Night of the Soul.

She struggles, not wanting to admit she did anything wrong…or it she did, it couldn’t be pride or arrogance that drove her to it.  But…she does.  And she realizes she must be inclusive, not exclusive.  And that means embracing and defending a group she doesn’t like or trust.  Nor do they trust her.

Does this all make everything instantly better?  Nope.  She still has to prove herself to them before they will follow her.

What’s Next?

Next time I’ll write about Climax Scenes.

Read about Climax Scenes.

 

2 thoughts on “My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Getting My Scene Types Right (6)

  1. Pingback: My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Getting My Scene Types Right (5) | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Getting My Scene Types Right (7) | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

