My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Getting My Scene Types Right (7)

Standard

My WIP’s Fourth Revision

Special Scenes:  Climax Scenes

I finished Epiphany Scenes.

go to leekah 1Not that kind of climax…ha.

What Are Climax Scenes?

These are no mystery.  They are the absolute high point of our story.

For thousands of words our MC bumbled and stumbled from one mishap to another, thought she had it figured out, only to fall on her face, then discovered what she had to change inside herself, then found a way to force the final confrontation with the bad guy.

So, here she is, ready or not, faced with the story question.  And the stakes couldn’t be higher.  If she doesn’t win she gets no second chance.  They won’t be handing out participation badges for this test…first place or nothing.

How did I write the scene?

Every prop, every motivation, every bit of backstory was already on the table…no surprises for those paying attention.  I loath stories where someone pops up in the last paragraph or uses an unsuspected power or weapon.  I tried to play fair

All the junior villains met their fates, and she face only with her villain / love interest and his chief henchman.

When she came to her moment of truth, she had no one else to depend on.

And going into that final confrontation, she wasn’t completely sure if she could divorce her feelings for her villain / love interest from answering the story question.

Once her villain / love interest and his henchman come on stage, I put my MC in immediate peril and never let up.  She resisted as best she could even as the villains pulled out all the stops to force her to submit.  When they played their trump card, she wavered, then resolved to be true to herself, whatever the outcome.

Someday you can read how it all turned out.

What’s Next?

I’m embarrassed to say I’ve been editing since June 12th, and I will chat about it.  I’ll give you a hint…it’s way hard.

Read about my plan for editing.

 

2 thoughts on “My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Getting My Scene Types Right (7)

  1. Pingback: My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Getting My Scene Types Right (6) | Simply Silent

  2. Pingback: My WIP’s Fourth Revision – Editing (1) | Simply Silent

Leave a Reply

